Rango

“A movie for movie buffs…”  says the NPR review.  I agree, but I think I missed half of the references.  I don’t consider myself a movie buff even if I do find it quite hilarious to shout out funny quips every day while managing the computer lab with my partner-in-crime Jules.

While taking a History of Film class at UNT, I remember the prof saying, before we watched Annie Hall, that Woody Allen, on average, references 80 things an hour or something ridiculous like that.  I don’t recall back-up for his research, but that tidbit has never left my brain.

So this is where I stand with regard to the movie Rango.  I do agree with NPR and here are the movies/actors I saw referenced:

  • Fear and Loathing
  • Once Upon a Time in Mexico
  • Star Wars
  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • John Wayne
  • Clint Eastwood
  • Good, the bad and the Ugly
  • The Hills Have Eyes
  • True Grit
  • Mad Max: The Road Warrior
  • How the West Was Won

I can’t remember the rest, I definitely need to see it again to catch another small fraction.

The characters, the “look”, and the voices are pretty tough to beat.  I usually am pretty biased when it comes to animation, sticking closely to PIXAR, but in this case I really enjoyed the movie.  It was the first animated film done by Industrial Light and Magic (those bastions of all things special effects), and they did not disappoint.

(Of course K was convinced about the movie as soon as she learned that Johnny Depp was voicing, so her thumbs up was pretty much guaranteed.)

C’s rating of Rango:  8/10

K’s rating of Rango:  7/10

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

