Tron Legacy

meh.

Tron (1982) was ahead of its time.  I can remember reading Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World for high school and being really confused and I’ll admit it took me a couple of times, reading paragraphs over and over again to get some semblance of meaning. Even when our test came, I was still unsure of things. It was just over-my-head.

Tron(1982) came out when I was 9 and I’ll be honest, I didn’t understand it either, but I did, as many kids do, drool over the visuals.  How else can you describe something other than the word “cool” when you are that age.

Growing older and watching it many times since then on DVD, the meaning has become more apparent.  Partially due to experiences gained, or maybe even knowledge gained?  The lingo much like “double-speak” starts to make sense and realizations set in.  MCP, User, Grid, Program, de-resolution, etc  all start to make sense.  When I was 9 it was just another language I didn’t know.

All this being said, I think Tron Legacy looked cool, but not much else.  It was not innovative.  Should I expect the Tron franchise to uphold it’s creative spirit and show us something we haven’t seen before?  I think so.  I think the storyline in Tron (1982) is much better and Legacy falls victim to the “glitz/glamor” bug relying too much on its looks rather than substance.

I included a picture of the best part of the movie.  Yes the newly re-invented light-cycle, but more importantly, the symbiotic relationship of function and design.   Lines flow into and out of the body and light-cycle as if both were one entity.   Now, that is cool!

C’s rating of Tron Legacy: 5/10 mangoes

C’s rating of Tron (1982): 8.5/10 mangoes

K’s rating of Tron Legacy: 5/10 mangoes

K’s rating of Tron (1982): I haven’t seen the 1982 version of Tron since I was a sophomore in High School in “computer class” (yes, that’s what we called it back then)  I’ll have to borrow C’s DVD to refresh my memory for a fair rating.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

