Mamma’s Pizza, Fort Worth, TX

Let me begin with a disclaimer.  Although I like pizza, I don’t love pizza.  I mean, it’s good, but it’s not my all time favorite.  And ever since I had my gallbladder removed, it’s one of those foods that has the potential to give me a bit of a tummy ache.  (Also on the list:  certain crackers, pasta, muffins and other breakfast baked goods, especially donuts, oranges and orange juice, and anything battered and fried.)

So I don’t eat a lot of pizza, and when C suggested it for dinner the other night, I was excited.  I can’t remember the last time I had had pizza, so it was definitely time!  We stopped at a little place called Mamma’s Pizza on the way home from the train station.

C and I decided on ordering a mini pizza for each of us (personal size, 8″).  I had canadian bacon, pineapple, and onions, and C went for sausage and mushrooms.

First thing to notice:  look at that nicely baked, buttery, garlicy pizza crust edge.  Super crispy outside, soft and warm inside.  It was like getting breadsticks to go with the pizza and was definitely my favorite part!  Delish.

The edges puffed up around and over the pizza toppings, and the crust under the topping was much thinner.  The sauce was a little sweet, and was just enough to give some flavor and keep the pizza moist.  I can’t stand pizza with sauce dripping out all over the place.  This isn’t a pasta dish, people.  Mamma’s had the ratio down perfectly.

My only critique:  what’s up with the toppings?  They only had standard options available:  pepperoni, sausage, canadian bacon, onions, mushrooms, green peppers, etc.  Nothing new and exciting.  (If anyone wants some really exciting pizza topping options, may I humbly suggest Castrillo’s in East Nashville.  The Bird is my all time favorite – chicken, turkey, corn, broccoli, and tomato.  But The Dylan and the Pesto Pizza are other menu winners!  Unfortunately, they don’t deliver to Fort Worth.  Sigh.)

All in all, though, a wonderful pizza place.  Classic choices, yummy crust, close to home, very reasonable prices (two mini’s and two drinks was just over $15), and no gastric objections!  Highly recommended, as long as you remember to eat the crust first!

C’s rating of Mamma’s Pizza: 8/10 mangoes

K’s rating of Mamma’s Pizza: 7/10 mangoes

This entry was posted in Pizza, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mamma’s Pizza, Fort Worth, TX

  1. Becca AKA AmazonaWomona says:

    I agree with the to much sauce on pizza comment. I too like places that have more toppings to choose from; hello goat cheese pizza! YUM!!!

    You guys should try Eno’s in Bishop Arts!

  2. We never get over to Bishop Arts 😦

Leave a Reply

