Dr. Pepper Museum, Dublin, TX

A while ago K introduced me to Groupon and we have never looked back.  Now, we have used the Groupons with little trouble and even though the places we’ve been haven’t all been good, we still enjoy the process and discounts.  (collective shout for GROUPON!  Yeah!)

Tucked away in the center of town, you could very well miss the wee DP Museum and bottling plant.  We were especially excited because with our Groupon comes a Frosty Dr. Pepper and by the looks of it from other patrons when eating it, I think they would have gone to war for that little sweetness.

The tour of the bottling plant was just interesting enough to keep my mind off of the 2-4 year olds downing the free bottle of Dr. Pepper, who would very quickly change in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1!  Yes five seconds, that’s all it took for the cute little ankle-biters to transform into Super Soldiers for the military–NO FEAR–NO REMORSE–NO PAIN! (mental note, no soft drinks for my kids before the age of 5) The poor parents had to keep them from tackling Kenny, our tour guide, for more DP.  “I need another hit Ken!  Please, just one more hit!”

We did see a bunch of nostalgia tied to DP which was a vintage goldmine, but alas, we were not permitted to take pictures of the loveliness.  After the tour, we were definitely looking forward to our Frosty.  Kenny hooked us up.  The DP Frosty was a combination of Vanilla Blue Bell Ice Cream and DP syrup.  Oh my heavenly father, the concoction was thick and quite possibly the sweetest thing my tongue has tasted.  If we hit a syrup vein in the mixture, it was tough to swallow.  I suggest you have some water on hand.

We walked through town and found a small spot in the center to sit down in the shade.  It was here that my secret plan unfolded.  K really likes DP.  She has a secret addiction.  Well, maybe not so secret,  so I knew that she would be on board for the day road trip, but what she didn’t know is that I planned to ask her to marry me there.  Now, we don’t get to spend much time together during the week because we live about an hour away from each other, so our weekends are pretty special.  This, I was hoping would take it to the next level.  She had no idea!  (I am so patting myself on the back for my planning ability, good job C, good job.)

Under a gazebo, I bent down on one knee and uttered the words, holding her hands…”Kim…will you do me the honor of being my wife?”( I barely got out the word “wife”.  I was choked-up by that time)  Kim, with tears welling up in her eyes couldn’t speak, so she nodded.  Tears took hold of both of us and we embraced.  Sorry Dr. Pepper Museum…you were bested by me.

C’s rating of Dr. Pepper Museum:  7/10

C’s rating of Dr. Pepper Frosty: 7/10

C’s rating of Dr. Pepper with cane sugar: 10/10

K’s rating of Dr. Pepper Museum: 8/10

K’s rating of Dr. Pepper Frosty: 9/10

K’s rating of Dr. Pepper with cane sugar: 10/10

This entry was posted in Etsy, Museum and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dr. Pepper Museum, Dublin, TX

  1. Dillypoo says:

    Got a smile on my face and tears in my eyes! Congratulations!

  2. Ok, in Texas a “coke” is a Dr. Pepper, often diet. 😉

    Congratulations.

  3. Mike H. says:

    I’m not normally big on Dr. Pepper, but, wow, the Dublin version is astoundingly good. It’s like $1.75 a bottle, and kind of hard to find around here. The Coke & Sprite in glass from Mexico are also much better tasting than their US HFCS in plastic counterparts.

    And, yes, caffeine & sugar will “wire” most children.

Leave a Reply

