The Pirates of the Caribbean IV: On Stranger Tides

Perhaps this post would go better under a Question of the Day.  As in, what is it about these movies that I love so much???

When the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie came out back in 2003 (has it really been 8 years!!!???) I was just a young thing, and madly in love with Johnny Depp.  And although I love a good, thoughtful, deep movie as much as the next girl, I also really love my summer popcorn blockbusters.  Something to sit back and enjoy just for the pure fun of it, and wow! did The Curse of the Black Pearl deliver.  Something about the movie seemed new and fresh.  It was funny, fast-paced, and although I really am not a fan of Orlando Bloom, I loved the sword  fight choreography between his character and Captain Jack Sparrow.  The effects were amazing and impressive.  And I loved the comic relief provided by Pintel and Ragetti, the misfit pirates, and the equally inept British seamen, Mullroy and Murtogg. (“hallo poppet”)

3 years later we were given the 2nd installation, Dead Man’s Chest.  I loved this one, too, although some of the fight/chase scene’s in Dead Man’s Chest felt like they dragged a little more than the first, and I got tired of the rum jokes quickly.  But Davy Jones (and Bill Nighy) was a masterpiece!  I loved his makeup and his voice.  (I also love C’s impression of his voice! “dooooo youuuu feeeaaaaaah death?”)  I loved his ship, and I loved Will’s father.  And I never get tired of that scene when the amazon warrior jumps out from blending in with the tree.  I jump every time.  I didn’t even mind the huge cliff-hanger of an ending.

And then, in 2007, the 3rd film: At World’s End.  This was my least favorite of the films.  I didn’t like the East India Trade Company angle, or the little guy that played Lord Beckett.  Not that he’s a bad actor, he just got on my nerves.  Maybe he was supposed to.  And I just didn’t get the part about his inaction on the sea fight, and letting his ship get blown to pieces (although the special effects were pretty cool).  I didn’t mind the wrap up for the Will and Elizabeth characters, in fact, it was a pretty satisfying end.  But what was up with Tia Dalma blowing up like the Ursula the Sea Witch??  That was just plain weird.

Anyway, all that long preamble to say:  going into the 4th movie, I was excited to see it but my expectations weren’t too high.  The series seemed to be dragging a little, getting a little tired.  Johnny entertains me everytime, but the “coolness” was wearing off.   So, luckily, I was pleasantly surprised!

We didn’t see it in 3D (don’t get me started on the 3D trend…) and it has been out long enough that we weren’t in one of the huge theaters.  But the effects were still amazing (thanks to those bad boys and girls and ILM) and Ian McShane as Blackbeard was absolutely terrifying.  There was a hilarious bit with Richard Griffiths playing King George, (C’s favorite character) but although I can forgive them for casting Penolope Cruz, (C’s least favorite character) I can not forgive the lack of my two favorite defective pirates!  What a loss to not have them return to the cast! (hallo poppet?)

All in all, I found On Stranger Tides to be pretty good.  It was entertaining, with several  funny spots.  Jack, Blackbeard, Barbossa, and the Spanish navy are all fighting to get to the fountain of youth and have to navigate each other and mermaid infested waters to get there.  Penelope Cruz reveals herself as Blackbeard’s daughter, with a significant history with Jack that I never quite figured out (something about her in a convent…), and there was a cute side story between a mermaid and a poor Christian on Blackbeard’s ship (although I’m not quite sure where he came from either…).

I guess the bottom line is that it was good.  Not great, and lacking the punch that The Curse of the Black Pearl had, but good.  C and I used the Fandango LivingSocial deal to get our tickets, so it was a pretty good deal at $4.50 a ticket!  And really, there’s just something about the whole series that I find charming and entertaining.  Even At World’s End!

K’s rating of Pirates of the Caribbean:  On Stranger Tides:  6.5/10 mangoes

C’s rating of Pirates of the Caribbean:  On Stranger Tides: 6/10 mangoes (“I did all the quotes”)

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Pirates of the Caribbean IV: On Stranger Tides

  1. Dillypoo says:

    I saw the first and that was it. Mr. Excitement can’t handle popcorn films. One of the reasons I see the Harry Potter movies alone.

    Speaking of…Do you and C still want to go to the midnight release with me and three other friends? I’m getting the tickets this weekend (courtesy of a vendor – yay for free movies!).

  2. Becca AKA AmazonaWomona says:

    I liked this too! I adore Penelope Cruz and she did not disappoint! I thought Blackbeard was brilliant and the ship was AMAZING!
    Loved it! if they keep being this good I will not get tired of them!

Leave a Reply

