Sherlock Holmes

It’s been a really long time since C has taken me to the movies.  I’m not complaining.  I mean, I’m a liberated woman right?  If I want to go to the movies I certainly don’t need to be taken there.  I have a car.  I have a VISA.  But still, I find that I enjoy it more when someone is holding my hands… call me old fashioned if you must.

So Friday I worked up my womanly courage and asked C on a date.  We had been wanting to see the second Sherlock Holmes.

Frankly, an awesome cast

Pertinent background:  you may have missed this fact, but C is a true blue movie lover.  Frankly, he’ll probably see any movie with me.  Also, I am a true blue Holmes lover.  The originals, the updates, I love it all.  (Well, not all, but that’s not really what we’re talking about here.)  We both liked the first RDJ/JL Holmes movie.  Personally, I have never seen the appeal of JL, and I’m typically disappointed in the treatment of the Irene Adler character, but these things are not a surprise.  And the movie still entertained.

But let me just tell you, the 2nd one was AWESOME!  I didn’t only tolerate Mr. L, I liked him!  Noomi Rapace, who I had never seen before, was fantastic.  And RDJ, well, I always love him.

Bottom line, 9 mangoes.  And it would’ve been 10 if they hadn’t made the pesky little mistake of referring to weight in pounds (a completely american term).

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sherlock Holmes

  1. SMH92 says:

    I quite enjoy Jude Law as Dr. Watson. Also, the Weights and Measures Act, legalizing the metric system for all purposes in the United Kingdom was not passed until 1896, while the movie takes place in 1891; lbs. could easily have been used during the time.

    • I’m definitely not an expert on the subject but it is my understanding that prior to the overtaking of the metric system, “pounds” was a measurement in the UK primarily used in goods and trade. Weight (as in a person’s body weight) was colloquially referred to with the measurement stone (as were many agricultural goods), and still often is. To be honest, it sounded jarring probably because other Victorian british literature typically use stone instead, but that’s certainly not a scientific evaluation of the useage!

Leave a Reply

