Moonrise Kingdom

Why yes, we have gone to a lot of movies lately, why do you ask?

Image

(aren’t they cute???)

So, C has this thing for Wes Anderson.  And I will come out and say it, I don’t quite get it.  I’ve watched a few of his movie’s with C during our dalliance (Rushmore, The Fantastic Mr. Fox, and now Moonrise Kingdom.  I attempted The Life Aquatic but couldn’t quite make it… wife fail.)  Anyway, I liked The Fantastic Mr. Fox pretty well, but it’s not going on my top 10 list, and Rushmore had some funny moments but I wasn’t quite sure I got the point, so I went into Moonrise Kingdom with fairly low expectations.

I suppose that was a good thing, because I was absolutely charmed.  Charmed I tell you.  The best way I can describe this movie is that it’s an adult movie (with mature themes and such) but filmed as if it’s a kids movie (with a bunch of kids, summer camp, and a lot of over acting on the part of the grown ups), almost a comic.  And it worked.  I loved it.  I laughed, I cried, I danced along.

Stay tuned for C’s impressions.  As a connoisseur of Mr. Anderson’s I think he had higher expectations, and didn’t embrace the movie as much as I did.  Perhaps Mr. Anderson went for a more mainstream audience with this one and that’s why I loved it?

C here.  I didn’t feel it with this movie.  Much like, but to a lesser degree than The Life Aquatic.  I was smitten with all the references to physical items recalling a younger time in my life–a nod to nostalgia, which Anderson does particularly well or is it too trendy.  Even with all this, I could not get into it.  Rushmore, The Royal Tennenbaums and even to some extent Darjeeling Limited had qualities that resonated with me and of course Rush. and Tennen. are infinitely quotable.   Perhaps if I made a list of thoughts:

  • The main characters are a younger breed than previous films
  • Characters weren’t introduced in true Anderson style, or were they, I can’t remember
  • Though poetic, I thought it jumped around too much
  • Favorite, laugh out loud scene is the motorcycle stuck in the tree-top
  • Maybe I wasn’t in the right mind set to see it
  • Anderson’s symmetry/asymmetry balancing act still alive and well
  • BRUCE WILLIS DIDN’T HAVE A GUN.

K’s rating of Moonrise Kingdom: 8/10 mangoes

C’s rating of Moonrise Kingdom: 7/10 mangoes, Rushmore: 9/10, Royal Tennenbaums: 9/10, Darjeeling Limited: 7/10, Fantastic Mr. Fox: 8/10, The Life Aquatic: 5/10

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moonrise Kingdom

  1. Pingback: The Grand Budapest Hotel, 2014 | moviesandmangoes

Leave a Reply

