Roku and the time of the Hulu Plus fail

 

 

VS.

 

So back in the day, before I met my dearly beloved, I lived in this cute little apartment that I had “splurged” on.  Up to that point I had tried to stay towards the lower end of the rent spectrum, and had apartments that tended to be on the old and not so savory side.  When I found this apartment in particular, though, it was love at first sight.  We are talking garden tub with that shower hanger rod thingy that makes an arc outward, and you could fit a solid 10 people in there without even trying.  And then, the power that fueled the shower – a full size 40 gallon water heater (I was used to those little mini models).  I timed it.  I could shower (in glory: never having to touch a wall or curtain with all that space) for a solid 95 minutes without losing a bit of heat.  My poor budget never stood a chance but hey, I was worth it! 

Anyway, let’s just say that my upgraded apartment ate up my internet budget.  I was used to hanging out at the library, or at school, for my internet access so this wasn’t a huge deal to me.

And then I met the beauty that is streaming television.

So here I was with enough space to bathe a bull mastiff, but no way to watch Glee episodes on Hulu in the comfort of my own home.  And I didn’t even own a bull mastiff.  What’s a girl to do?  Luckily for me, I got a new neighbor!  With a wireless internet connection!  And no password!  Yep, I piggybacked right along through season 1.

(Don’t worry, this post has a point.)

Fast forward a couple of years and here I am living in the lap of luxury with me hubs and a wireless internet connection of my very own (password protected, thank you very much!).  So when I got an email from Hulu begging me to come back with a 2 week free trial period, and C and I had just finished the three seasons of Parks and Recreation available on Netflix, we thought, Sure!  Sign us up!  We’ve been loving our Roku for watching Netflix on TV, and assumed Hulu Plus would be as enjoyable.

Perhaps you can see where this is going now.

In the midst of Season 4 (who is Ann’s secret Valentine’s date????) we lost signal, paused, or froze about every 10 minutes.  It got particularly bad when the pauses were coming within 60 seconds of each other.  I leaned over to C, lowered my eyes demurely, and whispered, “This is just like watching Glee over a stolen internet connection.” 

(That’s how I do romance.)

So, Hulu Plus, your $7.99/month deal seemed like a pretty sweet gig.  And once, I was going to campaign for keeping once our free trial is over.  But, I’m sorry to say it, you suck.  Like, big time.

Roku: 9 mangoes

Hulu Plus on the Roku: 2 mangoes

This entry was posted in Products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

