Burgundy Pasture Beef, Grandview, TX

So, I’ve been reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma, by Michael Pollan.  It’s been on my reading list for pretty much ever, but I knew that once I read it, I was going to have to change my eating habits.  I’m weak, what can I say.

Anyway, C bought me a copy ages ago, and somehow it (along with a really cool looking book on the history of Italian food in America) got separated from all my books during my move to Fort Worth.  We were going through some boxes in the garage a few weeks ago, and lo and behold, there is The Omnivore’s Dilemma, calling to me!  It was time.

Well, this isn’t a review of the book (I’m only about half way through) but it was the reading of the first section that prompted me to google “local grass fed beef” and find Burgundy Pasture Beef.

Anyway, C and I drove down to the Burgundy Pasture Boucherie yesterday to check it out.  We placed an order for cheeseburgers made from their 100% grass-fed beef, picked out some chips and beverages, and looked around.  They had a case of freshly butchered beef cuts, and in the freezer had additional beef cuts, pork cuts, chicken from a nearby local farm, lamb cuts, eggs, cheese, tomatoes, and lettuce.  All of their animal products come from sustainable farms or from their own free-range ranch about 4 miles away.  The chickens are “real” free-range (meaning they actually are range chickens, not chickens that live in a building 98% percent of their time with “access” to a strip of grass).

We enjoyed our (way too large) burgers, paid for our meats to take home, and went on our way.

C’s burger

C and I enjoyed our burgers quite a lot.  We were discussing if we could tell a difference between them and the burgers we usually eat at restaurants.  I think our consensus was that the Burgundy Beef burgers had more of an actual beef flavor, and not so much just a salty flavor like burgers often have.  In fact, they weren’t very salty at all!  I could’ve gotten by on just a half a burger, myself (I don’t have a gallbladder, after all), but they were quite delicious, as were the chips (yay for chips with just potatoes and salt in them!) and cane sugar bottled sodas.

My burger, sans tomatoes

We’ll have to prep some of our cuts to know for sure how much we’re going to like this place, but it felt nice stepping out of the industrial agriculture chain to buy (and support) something local and better for us.

C adds – Undoubtedly, like many of you out there in meat eating land, I will just have to get over the increase in price per pound.  As I think about it though, K and I really don’t eat that much meat.  I for one have really cut back.  Up to this trip, we really only buy fish, ground turkey and lunch meats.  I don’t know what we will do about the lunch meat.  I know it has been quite a staple for us to always have around, well, for lunches.  But I digress.  It was quite enlightening and I especially enjoyed reading the free local produce mags they had there.  I had no idea of the popularity and accessibility.  I am also excited because K and I signed up for the next farm tour.

K’s rating of Burgundy Pasture Beef: 8/10 mangoes

C’s rating of Burgundy Pasture Beef: 8/10 mangoes

This entry was posted in Burgers, Restaurants, Retail and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burgundy Pasture Beef, Grandview, TX

  1. Dillypoo says:

    When is the farm tour? Maybe we can join you.

Leave a Reply

