The Hunger Games

Well, we finally saw it!

I read the Hunger Games Trilogy about a million years after everyone else had finished it (yes, I did the same thing with the HP books).  I had been torn about seeing the movie (and in fact, this was the reason I didn’t read the books for so long): a corrupt government makes children fight to the death.  I wasn’t sure this was a theme I really wanted to have floating around in my head.  And I was worried it would be gratuitously violent (ahem, Lawless, ahem).

At any rate, the revolution-fight-the-man-power-to-the-people lover in me won out, and I’m glad I decided to give the first book a try.  But, this is not a review of the book, it is a review of the movie, so let’s move on!

For a book adaptation, I was impressed how much of the story stayed the same.  But, there were SO MANY THINGS left out (of course) so I kept asking C if he followed certain things that I had got from the book, but didn’t see explained in the movie.  But it must’ve worked because he got all the vibes he needed, even though there was perhaps less detail.  I missed a lot of the detail, but that always happens in an adaptation.

As for my concern over the violence, well, it was pretty violent, but a lot of it was off screen or right before a quick cut.  The idea of what was happening was disturbing (and rightfully so), but the visuals were not something I am going to have nightmares about for the next 3 years.  So that was good.  But this was also my biggest beef with the movie.  In the book, I got such a strong vibe of the horribleness of what was being done to the districts.  Of the corruptness of the power.  Of the vapid shallowness of the capital.  It’s what made the violence tolerable – the fact that it was such a strong condemnation.  I didn’t get that from the movie.

But, wow, the look of the movie was fantastic.  For some reason, I was especially drawn to the pans of District 12 towards the beginning.  The woman on the porch, the old man sucking every last bit of meat off of a pile of bones.  It depicted the poverty and hunger of the district quickly, elegantly and extremely thoroughly.

Some final thoughts:

Stanley Tucci.  AWESOME.

Amandla Stenberg.  I loved, loved, loved her portrayal of Rue.  Rue was my favorite character in the book, and didn’t disappoint in the movie.  Beautiful.

Thank you, movie-gods, for bypassing the ridiculous rabid-dogs-as-face-clones the book tried to pull off.  What was that???  It was nice to see just regular old rabid dogs.

All in all, a satisfying movie, and I’m looking forward to the next one!

K’s rating of The Hunger Games: 7/10 mangoes

C’s rating of The Hunger Games: 8/10 mangoes

Any additional thoughts, C? (Why yes, thanks for asking.  The thought of killing for Big Brother makes me nauseous, however, I liked the lead and Rue.  I remember turning to K after the intro movie before the lottery…I think it said “in order for us to live peacefully, we must fight/kill”…something like that…and I turned to K and said, “I’m confused”.  Not many movies confuse me, but Inception was pretty close.  Maybe confuse is the wrong word…ahhhh….I mean stupid.  Yes, stupid, this logic is stupid.  Nevertheless, the characters and other ideas/stories teased a few more mangoes out of me. What? What?)

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

