Fogo de Chao, Houston, TX

Turning meat on a spike is always inspiring.

Fogo de Chao or “I never knew it was that beautiful”

K and I had our first “cheat weekend” and at the top of the list…Fogo.  For some reason, K was really craving meat.  Now for some time we have been purchasing meat through Burgundy Meat Farm and have had good luck with that.  Our other source of meat–fish, or what Ron Swanson refers to “as another vegetable”, is usually purchased from Sprouts or Central Market.  Regarding the latter, I can actually say “I have a “fish-guy””.  Honestly CM is living beyond our means I think, but I am going way off tangent.

And so, it’s really surprising for me to hear that K is craving meat. (insert innuendo here)  We had heard of Fogo only in stories handed down to us from lucky travelers circumnavigating the globe and the stories of meat, meat and more meat intrigued us, but never so much that I would don my compass and transit.  Let’s just say when the Mrs. wants something, she usually doesn’t have to convince me.  All I said was “you had me at “meat.””

Now, I want to make it perfectly clear.  The meat was wonderful.  Sirloin, Lamb Shank, Leg of Lamb, Filet Mignon, Lamb T-bone, Parmesan crusted Pork Loin, Chicken Leg, Lamb Chop, Pork Ribs and Sausage were all wonderful.  Yes, all were wonderful.  I only had a plateful, honest.  I didn’t last much longer than one plate.  But, and there is a big BUT.  The winner WAS NOT meat.  It was a simple and lovely bread roll.  We asked and we were told it was a Yucca flour and Parmesan cheese roll.  The little thing wasn’t much bigger than a golf ball and it was melt-in-your-mouth fantastic.

Now, I have had some awesome rolls and buttery laden honey biscuits in my gastronomic adventures.  Red Lobster makes a mean and addictive cheddar bay biscuit.  Texas Roadhouse has an awesome Yeast Roll with an incredible cinnamon butter.  And finally, some place we haven’t talked about, but will soon, located in Hurst, The Buttermilk Cafe has an incredible whipped honey butter.  But, like a said we will talk about that on another post.  I wanted to give you a benchmark of sorts.

So, back to the Yucca flour and Parmesan roll at Fogo.  Crispy and warm.  Cheesy and stretchy and best of all small enough to fit in your mouth.  A-mazing!

Go and eat for meat.  Enjoy the salad bar for fun to help move you through your bowels, but eat for meat.  Most importantly, DON’T FORGET ABOUT THE LITTLE ROLLS.  You will love them.

Go hungry.  Don’t go on if you are loosing weight.  I think my tummy space is quite a bit smaller.  I just can’t put it away as much as I used to.

Mom spoiled us with dessert.  I thought we were full, but we devoured it anyway.

K’s Rating of Fogo: 6.5 Mangoes, 8 for Lamb Chop, 10 for Roll.

C’s Rating of Fogo: 8 Mangoes, 9 for Lamb T-Bone, 10 for Roll.

This entry was posted in Churrascaria, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

