Seeking A Friend For The End of the World (2012)

Armageddon without the Bruckheimer-Action, twice the sweetness, twice the sadness, twice the memories. (and whoops!  everyone dies)

What would you do if you only had 2 weeks left?  Bear arms? Bear food? or Bear your loved ones?  I couldn’t help but interrupt the movie with these questions for K.  I rarely talk during movies, but at the thought of losing everyone I know, rifled my mind.

I was hit with idea after idea, some absurd, but some really simple.  Hiring assassins to put out a hit on you, endless orgies, wearing all the things you never wore, rioting, mayhem, killing, pillaging and then…working out in the gym and another mowing his grass.  “Why?” asked K.  Why indeed?  These are your last days and you chose this?  I simply said “…maybe that’s what they enjoy doing…”  And this is what it comes down to.  What would you enjoy doing?

I would cook with my K and spend time with friends and family.  Pretty much things I enjoy doing now.

This movie was difficult to watch at times.  Saying goodbye is hard for me and many.  SAFFTEOTW hits this point home hard.  But it’s sweetness and soundtrack take it over the edge.  I had to recoup with a dose of Parks and Rec.

Performance by Steve Carell was nothing short of great.  Keira’s annoyance began around Pirates 2, had a brief lull in Atonement and had a brief appearance during SAFFTEOTW, but it wasn’t enough to throw my arms in the air in protest.  I loved this movie.

Favorite characters: Kiera’s boyfriend and the host at Friendsy’s

C’s rating of SAFFTEOTW: 8.5/10 mangoes

K’s rating of SAFFTEOTW: 7/10 mangoes

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

