The Silence of the Lambs, 1991

Okay, the first real question is: How old does a movie have to be to be considered a classic? Because if you had asked me that before I watched The Silence of the Lambs, I would have said it had to at least be older than me.  But, perhaps because this movie is SO famous and I’ve never seen it, it kind of felt like watching a classic.

On to the movie. Some thoughts:

creepy– It wasn’t nearly as scary as I thought it would be, and I was happy to see that it fit more into my idea of psychological thriller than say, horror/slasher movie.  I had put all my “scary movie rules” into place (C is not allowed to leave the couch for the duration, snacks for distraction, watch only during early daylight hours, don’t make me shower by myself the next day), but I didn’t really need them.

stottlemeyer – “Liar, liar Stottlemeyer.”  (Or as I like to say it, “liah, liah Stottlemeyah.” Name that show.)

– I now realize that I actually had no idea what this movie was about.  Hannibal the cannibal was not the serial killer being chased!  I kept waiting for him to do something dastardly, or to find out he was secretly controlling Buffalo Bill.  Also, while he was super creepy, I kept waiting for him to do something scarier to Clarice.  What was with all the warnings (that she absolutely did not heed in any way) to stay far away from the glass?

jodie – I love Jodie Foster.  That woman is a force.

– When did the term transsexual get replaced with the term transgender?  Or has it?  It was jarring to hear that term, because I have the impression it’s not PC, but maybe it is still clinically meaningful to differentiate between sex and gender for trans individuals in regards to terminology and self-identification.  Needless to say, this movie did nothing for the stereotype linking trans individuals with mental illness. Bleh.

hannibal – This movie felt so personal, I’m not sure I have seen a movie shot in such extreme close up so often.  It was disconcerting, but in a way that added to the mood of the movie, rather than just being annoying.  Interesting.

 

K’s rating of The Silence of the Lambs: 8/10 mangoes

C’s rating of The Silence of the Lambs: 9/10 mangoes

This entry was posted in Better late than Never, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

