The Bluebonnet Cafe and Bakery – HEB, TX

20140403_185028C and I have date night on Thursday nights.  Usually date night is dinner at home, sometimes with candles if we’re feeling festive, a movie on netflix, or catching up on a show, and early to bed.  I still have work in the morning!  But occasionally we like to shake things up a bit and C suggested going out.

We hit up a little diner style bakery and restaurant in HEB called The Bluebonnet Cafe.  This wasn’t our first trip; it’s across the street from a local community theater called The Artisan Center Theater, where I used to frequent with my mom and little sis for theater on the cheap.

Back to the cafe.  There’s one reason we come here, and everything else is secondary.  I give you:

This is a delectable concoction of whipped heavy cream and butter.  It’s light and airy and makes the rolls (which, to be honest, are good but not great) sublime.  It may happen that one eats it plain on one’s finger.  It’s that good.

Oh yeah....

Oh yeah….

The food is good, decent home cooking style fare.  This isn’t our number one style of food choice – heavy and buttery is good on the taste buds but killer on the digestive track – so we tried to stick with somewhat “lighter” options (I say as I shove sweet potato fries in my mouth).

20140403_180811

Poor C didn’t ask what the soup of the day was before ordering the soup and salad.  Silly guy doesn’t appreciate creamy soups.  He gave it a valiant effort, though.

20140403_180748

Besides, we were saving our calories for this:

20140403_183816

This, my friends, is a southern institution.  The Buttermilk Pie.  If you have not had this, I can only feel sorry for you.  It is creme brulee in a pie.  It is buttery and sweet and pudding with a crispy sugary top and flaky crust.  It is… amazing.

So, come for the whipped butter (trust me), stay for the pies (you seriously have to trust me here) and fill up whatever room you have left with a pretty good meal!  The main drawback, this guy’s closed by 8:00 or 9:00 depending on the night and only open until 3:00 on Sundays, so late night pie is, sadly, not an option.

K’s rating of The Buttermilk Cafe and Bakery: 8/10 mangoes

C’s rating of The Buttermilk Cafe and Bakery: 8/10 mangoes

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Bakery, Home cooking, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Bluebonnet Cafe and Bakery – HEB, TX

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page again.

Leave a Reply

