Edelweiss German Restaurant, Fort Worth

I wouldn’t say that C and I are connoisseurs of German cuisine. I have about 5 different establishments under my belt, tops. But, 2 out of those 5 were decent, and 2 were downright tasty (don’t even ask about the other one). So although I can’t really tell you if something is “authentically German” (although in FW, TX, probably not) or if it’ll be like your momma used to make (I don’t know your momma), I can tell you if I liked it! And that is valuable information.

photo 1We drive by Edelweiss on a pretty regular basis, but it’s a bit on the pricey side so we hadn’t made it a priority to go. When they offered a Groupon, though, I was on it, and C and I finally got a chance to try it out.

Pro: there was plenty of seating and quick service.

Con: it was a bit dilapidated and you only hope they keep the kitchen up better than the rest of the place.

photo 3Pro: the braised pork ribs were juicy and delicious

Con: the accordion player hung around our table so long, said ribs got cold

Pro: the accordion player was pretty talented

Con: he talked more than he played

photo 4Pro: the portions are HUGE!

Con: the portions are HUGE!

Pro: we liked pretty much everything we tried – the ribs, the potato pancakes with apple sauce, the pickled red cabbage and sauerkraut, the sausages, the jaeger schnitzel (I realize pictures of juicy meat do not photograph particularly well. Sorry.)

Con: although we liked it, we didn’t love it

All in all, it was a fun little stop, but the prices are probably a little too high for us to go back much. Suggestion to the owner: cut back on the quantity (by half! at least!) and make it a little more affordable!

C and K’s rating of Edelweiss: 7/10 mangoes

 

This entry was posted in German, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Edelweiss German Restaurant, Fort Worth

  1. foodessen says:

    I went to this place years ago, I think it’s changed since then. I have to say at the time I ordered something German that wasn’t on the menu and they made it for me. I was very impressed but agree with you, I liked it but didn’t love it.

Leave a Reply

